NAVIGATE
home >
archive >
profile >

CONTACT
contact >
notes >
guestbook >
d-land >

ABOUT ME
myspace >
Dallas Derby Devils >
HSH >
SHS Swag >

EXTRAS
alison >
beautiful woe >
chris >
sara >
thea >
thea2 >
TABI >
amazon wishlist >
target wishlist >
Who Links Here >
RACE FOR A CURE >
It�s weird to listen to Moby sing. On all his previous releases, he hasn�t sung any. It�s just been electronic music with a lot of sampling. I bought Moby�s new CD �Hotel� today, even thought it got really bad reviews in the national press today. Two of the biggest newspapers gave the CD one and two points out of six. Still, I bought it.

I dig Moby and I think music reviews are silly. It�s only one mans view. Even though I think it�s silly, I read through the new reviews every tuesday. And I do pay attention to it and in the back of my head I guess I think about the reviews when I buy CD�s. But not today.

They said Moby was boring. I hate to admit it, but I kind of agree. This new CD is not as fabulous as �Play� was and it�s not as good as �18� was either. It�s kind of boring actually. Not all of it, but some. On the bright side, I absolutely dig the pictures in the CD. The front cover and the picture inside where he�s laying on the bed, is grand. He also writes something very fascinating on the back of the cover. It was beautiful to read. It goes like this:

Hotels fascinate me in that they�re incredibly intimate spaces that are scoured every 24 hours and made to look completely anonymous. People sleep in hotel rooms and cry in hotel rooms and bathe in hotel rooms and have sex in hotel rooms and starts relationships in hotel rooms and etc and etc, but yet every time we check into a hotel room we feel as if we�re the first guest and we get very upset if there�s any remnant of a previous guests stay. Something about this idea, that these intimate spaces are wiped clean every 24 hours, fascinates me. That we enter a hotel room and it becomes our biological home for a while and then we leave. In some ways it�s similar to the human condition.

We exist and strive and we love and we cry and we laugh and we run around and we sleep and we build things and we have sex and then we die and, not to sound too depressing, the world is wiped clean of our biological presence which, from my perspective, makes our brief biological time here all the more precious due to it�s relative brevity.


This is only 2/3 of what he wrote, but this part was the best. It�s very interesting what he wrote. I�ve never looked at hotel like the way he does. It�s fascinating. It�s so fascinating I just had to share it with you.

I think I might make a poem out of the thoughts Moby has on hotels. Several thoughts and lines are spinning around in my head. I got ideas. I think I�ll make a poem in norwegian, maybe one in english too?

Mum called me today when I was at H&M. I had to call her back. When she took the phone I asked her if there was something special she wanted. I think she got the impression that I didn�t want to chit-chat with her. She starts to talk about Pelle and how we�re going to do it this Easter. It was the same conversation I had with dad yesterday. She just wanted to get things clear. Find out when I could pick him up and when I was leaving Lierfoss. I think she was going to call Hanne and ask her to deliver him to the animal boarding house.

She could�ve gotten all the info she needed if she�d talked to dad. I guess just wanted to talk to me and used that as an excuse to call me. I think she thought she couldn�t call me if she didn�t have anything special she wanted to say.

I feel bad about this. Deep down, I think mum is a bit insecure about this. Maybe she feels a bit sad about this and I don�t like that. It makes me feel bad. I don�t want to hurt mum in any way. But at the same time, I think it�s necessary to do what I do. I need my space.

I went over the top with Sissel�s birthday gift today. I had plan to spend 200 NOK (250 NOK at the most) for her gift, but I landed on 300 NOK (about 43 USD). I bought her a beautiful red/pinkish butterfly piercing for her tummy. I hope she likes it. If not, she can return it and buy something else. Linda got a boring gift certificate for clothes on H&M. In addition to that, I�ll burn Kent�s new CD for her. I�m going to make a birthday card for Linda, that�s the cheapest way to do it. I�ve already bought one for Sissel. I bought it several years ago when I was in Sweden. I lost if for a while, but found the card while I cleaned up in my drawer.

I contacted the bus company today to ask for when the bus goes to Elverum the 26th. It goes 10.20 AM and 11.20 AM. Both times will work. I will talk to Bj�rg on MSN tomorrow to tell her what I found out. I think I need to ask her once more if it�s ok that I come. Just to be sure� I think I will return to Oslo on monday.

I will have time to eat dinner with grandma on Good Friday. That will be nice. I�ll call her some time this week. Speaking of Good Friday, it reminds me of Sissel. I think it was last year or the year before that. She asked me what day Good Friday was on. I cracked down in laughter. What day? Friday of course. She smashed her hand in the forehead when I realized what she�d said. It was hilarious.

Ciao!